RSS Feed

Sound of Silence (Yeah, right)

Image

Mila has arrived on April 2, 2013.

There are a whole set of new sounds with this baby~ that I had not heard with my first baby~ who is now, like, so pre-teen, totally.  With the first baby, I had behind the ear hearing aids and I thought I could hear everything.  Little did I know that there were many, many things I didn’t hear with baby number one.

Baby number two has introduced me to the sounds of burping (can be very loud and rude), for lack of better words, explosive mustard-ry poo (has she no shame?), lots and lots of cooing and in between those coos there are specific meanings.

There’s that dry cry that’s somewhat short~ kinda like this: “ahh, ahh, ach” which means she’s tired and wants to sleep.  I didn’t know little babies have a desire to sleep and actually communicate that.

There’s that: “awooooo awooooo” that she used to have which means that her tummy hurt.

When we wrapped her up before sleeping, she has almost a sigh that probably means: “Aha, finally, you’re putting me down to sleep.  Thank the good heavens.”

How about that slight squeal after a smile.  Warms my heart.

And, the worse of all is that pure bloody scream that seems to be reserved only for car rides.  I mean, nerve wracking scream~ the kind that can make you feel insane and think terrible thoughts.  I can’t handle it, I. tune. her. out.  That’s my gift.  I get to choose whether or not I want to hear this kind of cry.

All new.  I’m somewhat surprised at how unaware of the sounds my first baby made.  To be more precise, I didn’t know those sounds actually existed.  I did a lot of body language reading~ I still do that ~ but I feel that I’m not as aware as I once was because the sounds of communication is quicker and more effective.  I’m amazed at how much a tiny little baby can communicate.

I love it all.

About Amy Pogrebin Bremenstuhl

Life is noisy~ in a messy way. I thought I'd try writing about surviving the hearing world every day for 365 Days.

4 responses »

  1. Nice work. Thanks for the update on baby sounds. Looking forward to more. Xoxo. On a 3 am bus. Zzzzzzz.

    Reply
  2. Hi Amy,
    I am so happy I got connected with you and your blog…
    Such a cute baby and a real wonderful site!
    Thanks for visiting decibelsofhope.com

    Thanks for sharing us your experiences…

    Keep connected! xo

    Anna

    Reply
    • Amy Pogrebin Bremenstuhl

      Anna,
      I’m glad we connected! I’m even more glad that your daughter has parents who are excellent advocates for her!
      Best,
      Amy

      Reply

Leave a Reply

