RSS Feed

Day 19: ExPResSIon!!!

Part of my job is to teach struggling readers how to read~ often these readers lack fluency and expression.  One of my favorite thing to do is model the reading and have them repeat after me.  I tend to be very dramatic anyway~ so I will read in a very eXpResSIve way~ I believe that the more dramatic you are in reading, the more the children will pay attention and will catch on.  This is one of those moments that I truly love having two hearing~ it brings on such a smile when I hear the students repeat exactly the way I read a line.  I love it because it sounds so melodramatic and cute~ the pitch of voices go up a bit when there’s a question mark; stretch those words when necessary; get a little loud with excitement when those awesome  exclamation point comes along.  I make them all feel so proud of themselves and encourage them all to become actors and actresses.  You should see their faces beam with pride!

About Amy Pogrebin Bremenstuhl

Life is noisy~ in a messy way. I thought I'd try writing about surviving the hearing world every day for 365 Days.

Leave a Reply

