RSS Feed

Day 16: God, Is That You?

There have been many a times when I’ve been told, “Amy, I saw you and called out for you.  You didn’t answer me.”   I have been accused of being snotty because I didn’t respond to a person as I would walk on by.  I have been shouted at from a distance to get my attention.  I’ve had people say that even from a short distance, I’ve not answered them. People have run up to me to tap on my shoulders to get my attention. When people tell me that, I would become embarrassed.  The mere thought of not responding when someone is trying to get my attention makes me feel somewhat inadequate~ I can’t quite explain why it made me feel that way~ but somehow it did.

That was then.  Now, I seem to hear my name all the time.  The irony of hearing my name is that I don’t know where it’s coming from.  So, I’ll look in all directions until I figure out who is calling my name.  Today, as I was standing in the office, someone called my name~ I did respond but had to find the source of the caller.  The caller smiled and came towards me~ I’ve learned to joke about it.  I would move my head in all directions to pretend that I’m still confused about who is calling me and said, “God, is that you calling me?”  Nevertheless, I love that I can answer to my own name~ and there’s no shouting, no one chasing me, no one sharing with me that I didn’t respond.  It may be simple~ but it gives me ownership of my own name.

About Amy Pogrebin Bremenstuhl

Life is noisy~ in a messy way. I thought I'd try writing about surviving the hearing world every day for 365 Days.

3 responses »

  1. I love how open you are in this blog. I’m learning things about you that I never knew. Love always, Mom

    Reply
    • amy,
      i really enjoy reading about your communication experiences. i to,like your mom, am learning much about your life that i was unaware of untill now.i look forward to reading more of your thoughts as they appear.

      love, dad

      Reply
  2. Mom and Dad~ how nice to see both of your comments on the same day! But, thanks to both of you for supporting all of my endeavors! Hugs to you both!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

