RSS Feed

Day 13: Remembering Wind Chimes

I thought I was going to go for a short bike ride today with Dan~ and out of laziness, I only put on one hearing processor.  We were enjoying such a ride and decided to continue on.  There were several times when Dan used his bike bell to let other riders and walkers know that we’re passing them.  I felt proud that I was able to hear the ring~ ring of the bell.

However, that ring did bring back a memory from when I had my first implant~ and when it was first activated (turned on).  I remember sitting at my dining room table that faced the window.  There was this sound that was constant~ not loud~ but with many different melodies~ high, low, low, high.  And, for the life of me, I just couldn’t figure out what that sound was.  My sister, who was staying with me at the time, saw a very unpleasant look on my face~ and asked what was wrong.  I told her that there was this noise that I couldn’t figure out.  She stood still for a moment, concentrating on “that” noise and said, “Oh, you mean the wind chime?”  My eyes opened really widely~ out of shock~ and exclaimed, “That’s supposed to be a peaceful sound?!?!”   Not only that, I was amazed that a sound can travel right through the window!  I always imagined that walls and windows were solid~ I mean, rain bounces off them, so why wouldn’t sound bounce off?

Someone, kindly, please explain to me how all that ding, ding, ding is supposed to bring peace.  Do you find it peaceful?  If so, please share with me how that makes you calm.

About Amy Pogrebin Bremenstuhl

Life is noisy~ in a messy way. I thought I'd try writing about surviving the hearing world every day for 365 Days.

6 responses »

  1. I don’t mind soft wind chimes in the distance. Would never have one near my house, not peaceful to me!

    Reply
    • Come to think of it, I can see how it might sound nice if it’s from a distance. But, having a wind chime right next to you is a whole different story!

      Reply
  2. I have gotten out of bed in the middle of the night, have gone out into the freezing storm, to take down the windchimes. I finally just left them down!

    Reply
    • Oh, that’s funny~ I can only imagine how annoying that must be (you see, I don’t even hear at night)!!!

      Reply
  3. I actually love windchimes. I think for me that part of it is because I love the wind, it’s my favorite element, and when I hear a windchime, it means the wind is blowing, which makes me happy. When I hear them, I get a peaceful feeling. I do like the lower tone ones better, not the little high ones.

    BTW, this is Rachel, Dan’s friend from SLC. Just discovered your blog and wanted to catch up on it all. I am loving it!

    Reply
    • Come to think of it~ I LOVE the wind~ well, I did more before I had the cochlear implants. Oooh, you just gave me a new topic to write about!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

