RSS Feed

Day 12: Friday the 13th

Oh boy.

Today was a day where students were more hyper than usual.  More noisier than usual.  Even the school building was louder than usual.  Was Friday the 13th the cause?

The classroom was quiet.  Silent.  The only noise is coming from me and my colleague.  We’re having a quiet conversation about believing in our students~ being proud of their accomplishment~ hopeful that they will continue to grow academically.  It was a very peaceful conversation.  Then out of nowhere, there’s an rude interruption with this screeeee screeee screee sounds and it scared the crap out of me, I even let a cursed word slip from my mouth out loud, “Oh f*ck!”  There are flashing lights, ah, the fire alarm.  Screee, Scrreee, it continues.

Before life with my new hearing, the fire alarm would sound more like a low buzz, buzz~ it wouldn’t even phased me.  I wouldn’t have a reaction when that sound would come on.   I remember when I was in elementary school watching all those children covering up their ears as they walked outside.  I just stare at all those people with curiosity, wondering what it’d feel like to have a noise hurt your ears.  It really was a puzzling moment~ how does a sound make a group of people react in such a way that makes people jump up, make some children cry, make others look bewildered?

Today.  The fire alarm may not have hurt my ears but it certainly did make me react.  I felt my whole body freeze momentarily.  The sound took control of my body.   Now, I only have a taste of what it must be like for those poor hearing people.

And, the children.  My little groups of children were energetically loud.  They would shout at every word with an exclamation point.  Normally, they would just raise their voice a little to make a point~ but not today.   They didn’t want to discuss the story.  I’m not even sure what they wanted to do.  They were talking over one another, talking over me, just talking, talking, talking excitedly.

All that noise~ drained all the energy out of me.

I was dying to get home~ to tune out the world.  To feel my head deflate.  I wanted to crawl into my bed.  Go to sleep.  Hopefully, tomorrow will be quieter.

About Amy Pogrebin Bremenstuhl

Life is noisy~ in a messy way. I thought I'd try writing about surviving the hearing world every day for 365 Days.

2 responses »

  1. I’m really impressed together with your writing talents as well as with the structure to your blog. Is this a paid subject or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice high quality writing, it is uncommon to see a great blog like this one these days..

    Reply
    • Thanks! It’s not paid at all and I did modify it myself~ however, I can also be found on HuffPost (also, unpaid). Feel free to “follow” 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

