RSS Feed

Day 8: These Damn Cars

Seriously, cars are noisy.  Ugly noisy.
I have a car that is a year old~ and it drives pretty smoothly (or at least it should).  But, when I push that button that automatically rolls down the window~ there’s a very awful, low and slow ruuummmm ruuuummmm that is constant.  It gets louder when it slows down at a stoplight and has a different kind of loud when it speeds up.  Then you hear every zoom of the car that passes you by.  I hear it from a short distance away, then as it creeps up to me, the rude blaring hum (really, I can’t describe it) overtakes every other noise and then it fades away like a mean joke.

Having the window rolled down brings on this sudden sounds that is so different from when the windows are up.  It sounds so heavy~ so very heavy and then somehow I feel the weight of it, like I’m being pushed right down to the hot, sticky asphalt.  Then I start to worry, “Is that sound normal?  I can’t tell if that’s how a ‘healthy’ car sounds…(then a series of paranoia follows) it better be a normal sound even though I think it sounds god-awful…if it’s not, sh*t, it’s going to cost a lot of money to fix it…but really, it’s a new car, there shouldn’t be anything wrong with it…”

Is there a “dislike” button that I can push with this  obnoxious sound?

Enough with that sound!
Off with the hearing processor!
Within seconds, a floating feeling overcomes me, the car is now gently sailing smooth seas.  I am quickly aware of the beauty of a busy street~ people are walking obliviously in their own world, the spring sun shines it’s yellow rays,  and the colors of the flowers on the trees are blossoming.  I hadn’t noticed any of this until I silenced my world.  Zip, in a matter of seconds.

About Amy Pogrebin Bremenstuhl

Life is noisy~ in a messy way. I thought I'd try writing about surviving the hearing world every day for 365 Days.

2 responses »

  1. It is amazing how you are making me realize I tune out so many noises everyday. But there are some days that I am more sensitive to the sounds around me. I envy your ability to take out the processor to completely ignore the sounds that are bothering you.

    Reply
    • Believe me, I keep hoping that one of these days, my brain *will* learn to filter out sounds! Que sera, sera 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

