RSS Feed

Day 7: Amen to Music

Music seems to have always have a magical effect on people.  A person may hear one beat of a song that has just started on the radio and exclaim, “Oooh, I just LOVE this song!”  And, she would suddenly ignore everything around her and start singing and moving right along with the beat.  I’ve always been amazed that a person can quickly become enraptured within the first beat of a song she loves.  First of all, I didn’t even hear the first beat.  Secondly, if I am familiar with the music, it would take several beats before I recognize it.  Thirdly, when I do recognize it, the song doesn’t capture me and transport me to another land.

Well~ that was before having two hearing processors.

Now.
I want to absorb myself in music.  Soak it all in.  Have it sprinkle me from my head to my toes.  I loved Tracy Chapman before even having a cochlear implant.  Today?  I love her even more.  I had no idea that there were more than one musical instrument playing~ and, it’s so amazing that they happen at a certain time so that there would be musical harmony.  There may even be a certain sound that happens within seconds after a beat~ to add that sensational touch to the music.  It’s really quite amazing to me how people create music~ especially one that has so many instruments that come together as one~ not only that, how music can add mood to a song~ and that mood touches your soul.  Mood has a way of changing your very being within a blink of an eye.

I think my new favorite instrument is the talking drum~ I would have Dan listen to a song with me and wait for a particular sound to come~ and point to it and say, “That one, what is it?”  Dan had to pay close attention and explained to me that are a lot of other instruments playing at the same time and it was a bit challenging for him to figure out exactly which instrument I was hearing.  Every time the talking drum is hit, it does something to me~ just comes right in to my heart and makes it flutter an extra beat.

Amen to music!

About Amy Pogrebin Bremenstuhl

Life is noisy~ in a messy way. I thought I'd try writing about surviving the hearing world every day for 365 Days.

Leave a Reply

