RSS Feed

Day 5

You see, I have been to Second City in Chicago twice~ and both times they were improvs.  Improvs are so much fun for me because so much of it is visual~ more visual than talking~ there’s a lot of body language and they quickly get to the point.  And, as soon as someone in the audience shouts out something, anyone who is sitting next to me would quickly tell me what s/he said, and then I’m able to (well, most of the time) follow along with the show.

I love a good laugh!  I love to laugh.  I love to make people laugh.
Last night, Dan and I had a date to Denver Improv.  Eric Griffin was playing~ never heard of him.  Dan called ahead of time to see if they would reserve a table close to the front so I can read the comedian’s lips.  They told us to arrive early and there would be a table for us.  Prior the the date, I was very nervous~ I was worried that, even with my two hearing processors, even though sounds are much clearer, even though I don’t have to work half as hard to understand people, I still worried that I wouldn’t be able to keep up or understand him.  Not only that, I was worried that I would completely miss out and that I’d want to leave.  Then, I worried about feeling extremely disappointed, to the point of feeling very isolated and I’d wallow in my own self pity.
Nope.
None of that happened!
I understood probably 85% of the show.  I laughed my heart out right along with the crowd.  There were moments when a comedian would cover his mouth to make some exaggerated noise with the microphone~ and I would miss out~ but only for a blip of a second.  If I really wanted to know what was missed, I’d just turn to Dan, who had his arms around me most of the night, and he’d immediately fill me in.  I felt very much a part of crowd~ and there was nothing for me to worry about.
Really.
It was an awesome feeling to be able to walk out of the show and be smiling right along with everyone else!
Now, I’m hooked.
I can’t wait for the next comedy show!
About Amy Pogrebin Bremenstuhl

Life is noisy~ in a messy way. I thought I'd try writing about surviving the hearing world every day for 365 Days.

Leave a Reply

