RSS Feed

Put Your Hearing Processors On Amy!

I noticed something interesting.

If I don’t have my hearing processors on, I don’t talk to the baby.  I just stare at her and watch her every move.  And, she stares back at me.  It’s a really, really hushed moment.  Then I feel guilty because I’d wonder how my little one is going to learn how to speak if I’m not talking to her.  I mean, we are our child’s first teacher after all, therefore, we should be speaking to them with languages that are so rich and intellectual, right?  

So, I put them on and then I hear the birds singing, the dog barking, the squeaks of the rocking chair, the slight humming of the baby, and on and on and on.  The noise is just constant.   And, strangely enough, I start speaking to her~ of course~ with words so colorful and creative~ so much that you may  even see the colors.  Heck, I may even pick up a book and start reading to her in such a  melodious way that any passerby would think I’m practicing for a play. The goal is that the baby will be speaking poetically before she’s two :) Every parents’ dream, right?

It’s such a dichotomous world between the endless, ongoing cacophony of sounds and the complete absence of noise,  This realization has brought a deeper awareness of how different I can be if I choose not to wear my hearing processors. 

About Amy Pogrebin Bremenstuhl

Life is noisy~ in a messy way. I thought I'd try writing about surviving the hearing world every day for 365 Days.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Put Your Hearing Processors On Amy! | 365 Days of Hearing

  2. Silence is golden…it too is a very good thing for
    Bringing up peaceful children.

    Reply
    • Amy Pogrebin Bremenstuhl

      Robin, that is so very true. But, if my husband and older daughter are gone, I’m more likely not to wear it~ but then that would be so very often when alone with the baby.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

